jump to navigation

Financial Destruction May 10, 2013

Posted by Crazy Mermaid in Mental Illness and Bankruptcy, Mopney and Mental Ilness.
Tags: ,
trackback

Back in February 2008, I began my descent into total and complete madness. As my mania and delusions increased, my husband knew that I- a frugal person by nature- was out of control.  He had no idea what was going on, but with no history of drug use or mental illness, he had no reason to consider them as explanations for my increasingly bizarre and outrageous purchases.

Even if he had known that I was in the throes of a psychotic break with reality, the truth is that there wasn’t a thing he could do about it.  The bottom line was that although he was legally responsible for my debts (Washington is a community property state), he had no power to stop me from bankrupting us. Signatory on all of our accounts, I had every legal right to spend our money as I saw fit. No matter that I had lost contact with reality.

To his credit, my husband performed a small miracle. Despite the fact that there’s no 3 day grace period for car purchases, he managed to convince the dealership to allow him to return the $55,000 Lexus Convertible that I bought in the throes of my psychotic break with reality – paid for with a “hot” check- within hours of it hitting our driveway.  In the meantime, continuing my out-of-control buying spree, clothing, shoes, jewelry, and lots of plants and yard ornaments all went on the plastic.

Within months of the start of my spending orgy, having blown through tens of thousands of dollars, I was involuntarily committed to a mental hospital, giving my husband some breathing room to do damage control. During my spending spree, I brought home armful after armful of merchandise, packing the bags upstairs to my bedroom and setting them down on the floor.  Once I was involuntarily committed to the mental hospital, he enlisted the help of my mother and sister to return all of the merchandise.

Damage control underway, my husband turned his attention to the bigger picture.  My purse in his possession, he tore up all my credit cards. He flagged our credit to prevent me from opening another account without his knowledge. And, reaching beyond his legal limit, he –without my permission or knowledge- closed all of our credit and bank accounts, opening new ones that I had no access to or even knowledge of.

Coming out of my psychotic break, I was ashamed and embarrassed at my conduct, even though my husband took pains to explain that the financial train wreck was, like my tremendous medical bills, another cost of my mental illness. He refused to consider my actions an act of moral bankruptcy.

I could do nothing to atone for my sins except put in place as much protection (from myself) as possible in case I again became psychotic. In the end, I realized that it came down to eliminating my access to all of our accounts. I have no credit cards. I don’t know what our bank account numbers are or what our bank balance is. In fact, I know nothing about our finances. My husband dispenses cash to me- me, a professional woman who made $100K a year. And that’s the way it has to be.

Comments»

1. Gledwood - May 29, 2013

I am so glad I was poor when I went psychotic manic. I never even THOUGHT about going on a shopping spree. To be honest when I was most out of it I don’t know how I would have coped with any shopping more complicated than buying a packet of cigarettes. And I remember being in one shop where there were 2 lines of people yet 1 person serving, then 2 people serving and you were supposed to make this complicated judgement of where am I in the queue who is he looking at who comes next and I obviously got it wrong and this look in the guy’s face HE’S CRAZY. Ukh.

No! My Mum knows someone who went manic and blew her life savings on hiring business premises for some bright idea that vanished with the manic mood. now the poor woman is ruined. It’s terrible…

I hope all your finanacial shit gets sorted. Ain’t much in life more worrying than money worries know what I mean 😉


Leave a Reply

