jump to navigation

I’m Not Crazy February 11, 2011

Posted by Crazy Mermaid in mental illness, Schizophrenia.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Many people sing the words of songs without considering what they really mean.  Had people stopped to consider the lyrics of certain popular songs about mental illness, I doubt the songs would have made it onto the pop charts.  One such song that slipped between the cracks was by Matchbox 20, called I’m Not Crazy.  When you really listen to the words, you realize that the song is about a paranoid schizophrenic going through a psychotic episode.

While I was going through my psychotic break, I latched onto the song, singing along to it with my imaginary friends to and from work.  Although I didn’t consciously consider the possibility that I was crazy, my subconscious must have entertained that thought, because it became my favorite song.  I didn’t realize the true meaning of that song until after my psychotic break. I was stunned when I first truly listened to the lyrics.

Here, then, are the words:

I’m Not Crazy I’m Just A Little Unwell
I Know Right Know You Can’t Tell
But Stay Awhile And Maybe You’ll See
A Different Side Of Me
I’m Not Crazy I’m Just A Little Impaired
I Know Right Now You Don’t Care
But Soon Enough You’re Gonna Think Of Me
And How I Used To Be…Me

Talking To Myself In Public
And Dodging Glances On The Train
And I Know…I Know They’ve All Been Talking About Me
I Can hear Them Whisper
And It Makes Me Think There Must Be Something Wrong With Me

Out Of All The Hours Thinking
Some How I’ve Lost My Mind

I’m Not Crazy I’m Just A Little Unwell
I Know Right Now You Can’t Tell
But Stay Awhile And Maybe Then You’ll See
A Different Side Of Me

I’ve Been Talking In My Sleep
And Soon They’ll Come To Get Me
And They’re Taking Me Away

[ From: http://www.metrolyrics.com/im-not-crazy-lyrics-matchbox-20.html ]

Comments»

1. Astrid - February 12, 2011

Maybe this song also signals that “crazy” is an offensive term to call someone iwht a mental illness (unless tehy self-identify as such).

2. Ginger - May 4, 2011

I remember hearing this song on the radio one morning as I was driving to work – and my sister had just been committed to a psych ward for the first time following a manic episode. First time I’d ever really listened to the lyrics. I’ve had a soft spot in my heart for that song ever since.

Your posts hit close to home, thank you for sharing. Be well. ❤


Leave a Reply

