jump to navigation

Reluctant Gertie: Unwanted Medication February 3, 2011

Posted by Crazy Mermaid in Involuntary Committment, Mental Hospital, mental illness.
Tags: , ,
trackback

“NO!”

“You have to.”

“I won’t!” said Gertie, a 350 lb white woman dressed in a hospital gown, squeezed into a chair next to a blood pressure machine at the nurse’s station.

“Please, Gertie. We’ve been through this already.”

“You have no right…”

“We have every right, Gertie,” said Marjorie, the nurse handing out medication. “We’ve already been through this. Don’t you remember what happened before when you refused to take your medication?” She shook the cup of pills at Gertie. “Go ahead and take these.”

“But I don’t like the way they make me feel.”

“I’m sorry, but the doctor said you need to take these.” She rattled the cup again. “Please.”

Gertie shook her head.

“Then I have no choice.  We’ll have to give your medication to you intra-muscularly, Gertie. Just like we did before.”

Gertie continued to shake her head. “No.”

“Shall I get the other nurses?” asked a red-headed nurse in a pink tunic.

Nurse Marjorie nodded her head. “I really don’t want to do it this way, Gertie, but you’re giving me no choice.”

“Please don’t do this, Nurse,” begged Gertie.

“I’m sorry, Gertie, but I have no choice in the matter. You know that.”

“Our Father Who Art In Heaven. Please deliver me from having to take these pills,” Gertie prayed.“Please Nurse. Please. Don’t,” begged Gertie.

By this time, three other nurses had arrived

“Please God, save me from these evil nurses and their injection,” prayed Gertie as the nurses positioned themselves strategically around her.

As Nurse Marjorie prepared the syringe, I caught sight of a long needle.

“Please Gertie, don’t make me do this,” she begged.

“PLEASE GOD!  DON’T LET THEM!” screamed Gertie.

All at once, the nurses grabbed Gertie, holding her down as Nurse Marjorie plunged the needle deep into Gertie’s thigh.

“NOOOOO!” screamed Gertie. “THEY’RE KILLING ME!”

The injection complete,  the nurses released their grip on Gertie.

“There. All done, Gertie,” said Nurse Marjorie, her voice shaking slightly as she fastened a band-aid on the injection site.

By this time, the entire ward was shaken up, having watched this gruesome display.

“I think it’s time for a special Smoke Break,” said Nurse Marjorie. “Everyone outside!”

(Excerpt from my book, I Thought I Was A Mermaid)

Comments»

1. Rebecca - February 22, 2011

I have been following your blog for a couple of months and I just have to tell you that it has been a great source of comfort for me and aided me in accepting my mental illness (Bipolar Disorder Type 1). Your entries are so in sync with what I’ve been through. Words can’t express how much I can relate. Eloquently written firsthand accounts of psychosis are so hard to find. Thank you for consistently updating with new, informative, and entertaining entries. I check all the time to see if there is a new blog entry! Also, I am extremely excited to read your book. Keep writing. Reading your thoughts is highly educational and therapeutic for me. 🙂

Crazy Mermaid - February 22, 2011

Thanks!


Leave a Reply

