jump to navigation

Insanity (or not) is Expensive October 8, 2009

Posted by Crazy Mermaid in Escalating Healthcare Costs.
Tags:
trackback

Today I went to the pharmacy to pick up my 30 day supply of prescriptions for my mental illness.  My generic Risperdol (.5 mg) cost $92.19. My generic Lamictal (150 mg X 2) cost $209.99.  My generic Welbutrin (150 mg) cost $109.69. My non-generic Seroquel (200 mg) cost $138.49.  My total bill for 30 days of medication was $550.36.  That’s $6,604 for a year’s supply of medication- assuming the prices don’t increase (we all know they’ll be decreasing about the time that Hell freezes over).

Then there’s the psychiatrist visit. If – and this is a big if- I don’t have any major emergencies like hearing voices, I can get by with seeing him about every 4 weeks or so.  That’s about $250 a month.  Then there’s my therapist.  She runs $125 an hour. I see her twice a month. $250.   Between my therapist and my psychiatrist, I spend another $500 a month for their services.  Don’t get me wrong: they’re worth their weight in gold.

The grand total for a year of care is $12,604.  Whoa! Who can afford that?

But wait. It could be much, much worse.  That won’t even buy you three nights at Fairfax Mental Hospital.

Comments»

1. Serial Insomniac - October 9, 2009

My God! If you’ll forgive the pun, that’s insane. I spend half my time on my blog (and in life) complaining about the UK’s National Health Service – but reading this underlines why I ought to be grateful.

I’m sorry you’re having to fork out that kind of money. I am glad that at least your therapist and psychiatrist are worth the money, and hope the medications are too 🙂

2. Crazy Mermaid - October 9, 2009

I’m caught between a rock and a hard place. If I don’t take my meds, I end up in a mental hospital. If I do take them, I’m broke. So how much does your care cost in the UK? I’m curious. If you don’t mind sharing, that is.


Leave a Reply

