jump to navigation

The Case For Insanity October 6, 2009

Posted by Crazy Mermaid in Escalating Healthcare Costs, ESP, mental illness.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The case for insanity is compelling

In early February 2008, at the beginning of my traipse into a world of make-believe, I had ESP.  How cool is that? I talked with people in my head.  Powerful people.   Bill and Melinda Gates. The Dalai Lama. Oprah Winfrey.  My (then) bosses. All of these people and more were at my beck and call.

Then there was my job situation.  In my fantasy world, my (real) boss, via ESP, directed me to quit my (real) job.  So I did. Then, via ESP, he begged for my return, promising me more money and better control over my job.  In the meantime, Bill and Melinda Gates offered me a job at The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.  For twice the money.

And yet money had no real value.  I had access to Bill and Melinda Gates’ money.  I had a friend who was a time traveler who could make it so that I had money whenever I wanted it.  Because money meant nothing, I wrote a (NSF) check for  a beautiful, gold, brand new Lexus Convertible car.  Bill and Melinda Gates were going to reimburse me for the purchase as part of my new employment package. I bought a new wardrobe for my new job.

I owned $2 million in jewelry, including a 3 carat yellow diamond in a platinum setting, and an abalone bracelet that had once been owned by my (Mermaid) grandmother.

I talked with trees, dogs, and cats.

Last but not least, I was a genuine Mermaid.  Fish talked to me (literally). I had fins for feet. I had a beautiful tail.

I was beautiful.  I was energetic.  I was wealthy.

Now tell me that mental illness is terrible.

Comments»

1. Serial Insomniac - October 6, 2009

I have a remarkably similar fantasy. A few people are aware of its existence, but I’ve never relayed the specifics to anyone. Suffice to say, I had a dream job, plenty of cash, a settled and happy yet exciting private life, the car, the house – yadda yadda yadda. My shrink says it’s an accuentuated version of the daydreaming that ‘normal’ people do, and maybe that’s the case – but if so, then it’s hugely exaggerated.

In many ways I really believe that there are benefits to mental illness. Less so when one’s affects take a downturn, such as in BPD or depression, or if one has a persecutory delusion. But those episodes of mania, pleasing delusions such as the one about which you’ve written, benevolent voices – there’s a lot to be gained from this stuff. Besides which, madness becomes such an entrenched part of a ‘sufferer’s’ personality that it becomes an inherent part of them, and devising an identity in its absence would be, or so I should imagine, difficult.

Not that it doesn’t have its downsides, obviously. Slashing my stomach in the throes of a mental fit or being unable to get out of bed whilst fantasising about all the weird and wonderful ways I can kill myself come to mind. But it’s a double-edged sword in many ways.

Good post; thanks for sharing it 🙂


Leave a Reply

